IIT Kanpur Celebrates Foundation Day, Releases Logo for Diamond Jubilee Celebration

Kanpur, U.P.: On 2nd November 2018, IIT Kanpur celebrated its Foundation Day in the presence of Dr. VK Saraswat, Member, NITI Aayog; Prof. Abhay Karandikar, Director, IIT Kanpur; Prof. Manindra Agarwal, Deputy Director, IIT Kanpur as well as other eminent guests.

The program opened with a pre-recorded message by Shri Prakash Javadekar, Union Minister of Human Resource Development, Government of India. In his address, he mentioned the focus of the present government on innovation and how IIT Kanpur has achieved great things.

This was followed by the address by Prof. Karandikar in which he welcomed the guests and outlined the achievements of IIT Kanpur. “In 60 years, IIT Kanpur has grown phenomenally. Faculty, students and alumni have all brought us great glory. The Institute has seen remarkable growth in teaching excellence and its R&D initiatives. We have also enhanced the Institute infrastructure and are focusing on hiring faculty and post-doctoral fellows. We are now looking forward to more initiatives in our Diamond Jubilee year,” he said.

On the occasion of the Institute’s Diamond Jubilee, Prof. Karandikar also unveiled a special logo as well as a stamp.

Dr. VK Saraswat, in his address to the audience, talked about how India has a long history of innovation – from the mathematical zero to centuries-old civilizations. His speech, titled “Science, Technology and Innovation for Economic Growth” highlighted the innovation ecosystem in India at present. Earlier in the day, Dr. Saraswat had also inaugurated the Institute Vivarium Building, under the Department of Biological Sciences and Bioengineering, IIT Kanpur.

His speech was followed by the award ceremony. Following is the list of award winner:


Prof. HS Mani

Prof. Mani joined the Physics department at IIT Kanpur in 1969. His research work was primarily focused on high energy phenomenology and his teaching contributions at the Institute are legendary. He has also contributed to science education throughout India, training high school students and playing an important role in the Asiad Olympiad programme 2012.




Prof. Somenath Biswas

Prof. Biswas joined the Institute as a lecturer in 1980 and at present, he is a Visiting Professor at IIT Goa. He has previously also served as the Director of IIIT Allahabad. He started his research work in the area of logic but later moved to structural complexity and computational biology.




Prof. SP Mehrotra

Prof. Mehrotra has been associated with IIT Kanpur for almost five decades and at present, he is associated with IIT Gandhinagar. A noted researcher and an excellent teacher, he has also co-authored the book ‘The Fourth IIT – the Saga of IIT Kanpur”, a documentation of the growth and evolution of IIT Kanpur.





Prof VK Dhir (not present at the ceremony) Academic Excellence
Prof Asvin Vishwanath (not present at the ceremony) Academic Excellence
Prof. G Ravindra Kumar Academic Excellence
Prof. Utpal Banerjee (not present at the ceremony) Academic Excellence
Mr. Sanjiv Puri Professional Excellence
Mr. Amit Agarwal Professional Excellence
Mr. Avnish Bajaj Entrepreneurship & Management Excellence
Mr. Pavan Nigam Entrepreneurship & Management Excellence
Dr. Pramath Raj Sinha Service of the Society at Large
Mr. Tej Kohli Service of the Society at Large


This year’s Satyendra K. Dubey Memorial Award has been conferred upon Dr. Raju Narayan Swamy, currently the presiding Chairman of the Coconut Development Board in Kochi, Kerala.

Dr. Swamy is noted for his staunch stand against corruption. In his administrative career, he has held several portfolios. His anti-corruption drives earned him the Fourth IRDS Award from the Institute for Research and Documentation in Social Sciences, a Lucknow-based civil society.

What to read next:

Beta Version